top of page
  • Alyssa Owsiany

Radical Self Care: Part 2

Check out for Part 1 in the series here: https://www.thedailyv.ca/post/radical-self-care-part-1


Writing this series has really challenged me to look at how I define self care for myself. How do I take care of myself on a daily basis and more importantly, what works? How do I set up my day to day life in a way that gives me a sense of well being and taken care of-ness?


I’ve always been artistic and many people (I find) have gone off the assumption that artistic people, or individuals pursuing artistic pursuits, lack structure in their lives. I can guess that this might be similar with entrepreneurs out there- do people assume that a lack of 9-5 means one lives a lifestyle akin to flying by the seat of their pants?


I’m not sure how I feel about assumptions in general, but I can say that I’ve struggled with a lack of structure in my life from time to time. What I’m realizing more and more is that I thrive with structure to my days.


What is structure and what do I mean about thriving within the constraints of a pre-arranged schedule? For the sake of this article, when I say “structure” I mean the way one goes about their day, to include all tasks they find both necessary and meaningful, in order to build a sense of fulfillment in themselves through a consistent routine.


The Foundation: Essential Morning Practice

Sometimes I wish that there were more hours in a day so that I could do more of what I love. It seems that there is less time to pursue important hobbies and relationships with the way my life is built currently.


What I can say I’ve accomplished structure wise, in my life, that really helps me feel focused and grounded, is implementing a consistent workout routine in my mornings.


It might be different for you, but if you are able to pinpoint one piece of self care that is the most essential to your well being and do it on a daily basis, or even for the majority of the week, start practicing it. I would also suggest taking this practice and doing it first thing in the morning, if possible. This is an excellent start to building the foundation upon which the rest of your personal schedule will be structured, to build for a more fulfilling day, and hopefully life.


Some examples of these practices might include: Making a smoothie, going for a run, practicing yoga, meditating, journaling, listening to music, dancing, stretching, listening to a positive affirmation or audio book, doing your makeup, or walking in nature.


What I find most exciting about accomplishing a morning practice consistently is that it becomes easier to add more of these self care practices into my life. For example, my mornings now involve journaling and working out. Both of these practices are so helpful to my well being and greatly improve my relationship with myself. They also make my life feel more meaningful. Even if I only manage to do this morning practice for four days out of my week, I know the point is to keep going and also allow for off days.


Rounding Out Your Week: Make Changes with Small Goals

It’s easy to lose track of our dreams and greater goals when we get stuck in our 9-5 or regular work routines. Acknowledging what we deeply want in our lives is also a huge part of self care. It’s important to recognize what our personal goals are, what our heart is saying to us, and to go about implementing ways to make our desires become reality.


I read that true power is being able to actually create the changes we want to see. Empowering yourself by making small goals to accomplish on a weekly basis helps add structure to the week and also encourages growth in ourselves and lives.


Simple goals are attainable and important. Sometimes making a weekly to-do list and scratching almost every article off the list is an amazing goal setting activity.


Another valuable weekly goal to set for yourself involves trying to change habits you notice in yourself. Try to pinpoint habits you’d like to work towards changing in your life and make a small weekly goal that will help you do that. For example, I really want to change my habit of overspending. My goal this week is to budget myself to $20 a day. So far I’ve only messed up one day and I’m really enjoying trying to take care of something that’s been bothering me for a long time.

Try to pinpoint a dream or wish you have and create a small weekly goal that helps you work towards that. This is one I need to work on. Maybe we all do! For example, if you have a dream to start your own Etsy business, make it a goal for yourself to have an Etsy research session for half an hour during the week. Keep the goal basic and doable and build on it as the weeks progress.


It’s ok to get caught up in the stream of our lives and it’s also natural to have periods of stepping away from attaining our personal goals. Only you can determine where you are at and what you are ready to work towards accomplishing.


You take care of your soul when you work towards your desires, dreams, and personal interests. It’s only important to start somewhere and do your best, and take care never to be too hard on yourself if you mess up.


Do you consider goal setting part of self care? Is structure important to your well being? What do you consider the one essential daily self care practice in your life?

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page